Sivananda Yoga


Sivananda Yoga: is one type of Hatha yoga.

This form of yoga is ideal for those who enjoy a mix of physical and devotional practices. Each class will include some chanting and breathing exercises, in addition to the yoga poses. Each class will include the same twelve postures. These are designed to stimulate the chakras. As the emphasis moves progressively up from the base chakra, each chakra is stimulated, up to the crown chakra. The yoga poses will start in a standing position and progress to a headstand.  At the end of the routine, a final relaxation session.

Sivananda yoga is good for beginners because it allows them to get used to the same sequence in each class. It also gives beginners a chance to deepen their understanding of the postures that are involved. Sivananda places less emphasis on alignment and more on chanting and breath work than most other types of Hatha yoga. It also emphasizes diet, positive thinking, and meditation.

The philosophy of Sivanada Yoga is summarized in the following 5 principles:

  • Proper breathing: Pranayama
  • Exercise: Asanas
  • Relaxation: Savasana
  • Diet: Vegetarian. A yogic diet is encouraged, which is limited to sattvic foods and devoid of rajasic foods as well as tamasic foods
  • Positive thinking and meditation: Vedanta and Dhvana